ScotChem Polymer & Soft Materials III Conference

Book your tickets now

The University of Strathclyde is hosting the third ScotCHEM Polymer & Soft Materials Conference, an annual fixture in Scotland’s chemistry research calendar. The conference series covers all areas of related research including polymer chemistry and technology, self-assembly, biointerfaces, and bioinspired and advanced materials. This year, we are expanding to a 2-day event and further aiming to highlight sustainability research, from best lab practices to degradable polymers and upcycling approaches.  

The programme will include invited and contributed talks, poster sessions, and other networking and discussion opportunities. A highlight will be a Civic Reception hosted by the Lord Provost and Glasgow City Council, with complimentary drinks at the prestigious Glasgow City Chambers on Thursday evening, June 13th. 

Abstract submission is open for two categories of contributions: 1) scientific oral and poster presentations, and 2) flash oral presentations highlighting your laboratory’s sustainability best practices (from day-to-day operations to the impact of sustainability awards and certifications). 

Oral and Poster (scientific and sustainability) abstract submission deadline: 1 May 2024. Successful oral submissions will be notified by 10 May 2024.

Flash Presentation abstract deadline: 31 May 2024

All abstract submissions should be sent to:

Download the abstract submission template here:

MS Word Form    or    PDF Form

Early career researcher (ECR) prizes will be given to the most deserving contributed oral and poster presentations.   

ScotCHEM ECRs registering early may request travel support to help cover the costs of attending both days of the event.   


Confirmed Keynote and Invited Speakers 

Prof Holger Frey, University of Mainz 

Prof Dave J. Adams, University of Glasgow 

Prof Jan van Esch, Delft University of technology  

Prof Róisín M. Owens, University of Cambridge

Dr Juliane Simmchen, University of Strathclyde 

Prof Dariusz Bielinski, Lodz University of Technology 

Dr Amit Kumar, University of St. Andrews 

Dr Jennifer Garden, University of Edinburgh \ 

Dr Sebastian Sprick, University of Strathclyde 

 Prof Peter Cormack, University of Strathclyde 


Organizing Committee 

Conference chairs 

ScotChem organisers 

  • Alan Wiles – ScotChem
  • Suzanne Halden – ScotChem

ECR committee members  

  • Emma Edwards –  University of Strathclyde  
  • Ruchika Goyal – University of Strathclyde  
  • Iqra Azeem – University of Strathclyde 
  • Khalifa Mohamed – University of Strathclyde 
  • Dipankar Ghosh – University of Glasgow